Home > Uncategorized > Well, I didn’t cough up a lung…

Well, I didn’t cough up a lung…

… but I did cough up something phlegmalicious.

Lessons learned: my time for a mile was about the same as it was when I was but one score old. This means that my base fitness level hasn’t gone down (a good thing) but it hasn’t improved (a bad thing). The remedy is obvious: do it again tomorrow. I’ll have to work out a schedule for the regular work week though. My work hours give a preference to evening workouts. I’m not sure if this will be more or less difficult than working out in the morning.

Also, I was not able to run the whole thing, but had to walk a bit in the middle, perhaps fifty yards. Aside from that, I kept moving at all times.

It felt good, surprisingly, except for the phlegm.

Next steps: Repeat. Extend. Endure.

Resist.

  1. 15 January 2011 at 16:48

    Don’t forget – mix your days to long run, short run, long run, off day. Proven that the body responds and adapts when given recovery time and varied stress levels. After a good base fitness is reached, after a few months, you might try the type of fartlek/ interval used to such great success by the great distance coach, Dr. Ernst von Aaken – carrying a rubber ball on your long, gentle runs, and periodically throwing it on the ground ahead of you with varying force to allow you to sprint out to catch it. Before some knee problems sidelined me, I did high modestly mileage running for many years and by following the methods here, I had only ONE stress fracture in almost 15 years.
    Now, alas, this is but memory, but perhaps will be useful to you. Good luck.
    Oh – and use good shoes; two pair to alternate if budget permits!

  2. Useful Idiot
    15 January 2011 at 20:30

    Great point. Probably should reconsider doing this run every day, though. Read some of the running training sites out there for some good training plans; most suggest runs of every other day, not every day. Also, not sure of your age, but know that as we age, the composition of connective tissues (cartilage, tendons, etc.) changes, meaning lost elasticity and strength. That translates to longer recovery times unfortunately. Train hard but train SMART. Keep on brother.

  3. Dan
    16 January 2011 at 12:26

    I’m not gonna try to be your personal trainer, as I’m just a begginer too (but one score old, as you say ;))…But be sure to sprint plenty. It increases your speed and explosiveness in ways that regular running can’t…so sprint, sprint up and down stairs and hills, sprint in full gear…there aren’t many forms of combat conditioning that can compare to the sprint, so do it till you puke!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

