Home > Uncategorized > Militia Strong

Militia Strong

Rule #1 of Zombieland: Cardio.

Fatties get eaten first. True in zombie combat, true in …

Well, if you ignore the “eating” part, true in real combat too.

I have a confession to make. I have always hated PT. From grade school through high school, it was my least favorite class. When I got to college, no one made me do it, and I had no drive to do it on my own.

But whether you call it an awakening, an eye-opening, or just a realization that I’m not 20-something anymore, I know I need to get out and run myself to exhaustion.

Perhaps it was triggered by watching all those Surviving the Cut episodes on the Military Channel, where they show you what Marine Recon, Rangers, Navy divers, and Special Forces go through (in some cases, just to be accepted to train further) in terms of physical training. It hurts just to look at it, to say nothing of lifting that log with all your fellow trainees.

But I don’t have logs, I just have my rifle, my speed bag, and my will. And tomorrow morning, after I check in with work and fix anything that broke overnight (yes, I have one of those jobs), I will grab my running shoes, speed bag, and olive drab wool cap, stretch, and go for a one mile run.

What are you doing to physically prepare?

  1. 14 January 2011 at 19:52

    Right on. Too many people at the ranges with the right attitudes and convictions do not have the bodies to back them up.

    A $3,000 rifle isn’t much use if you have a cardiac arrest after carrying it and your gear for a few miles.

    No amount of ninja training will help if you’re too our of breath after sprinting to engage the enemy.

    Good post. If we believe what we claim, our actions should follow. Up and at it!

  2. peakbagger
    14 January 2011 at 21:25

    Old age doesn’t have to stop you. One of my running buddies who is 11 years older than me, at 66 yo he still puts in 50 mile weeks. Running isn’t for everyone, hiking is good but just takes more time.

  3. 14 January 2011 at 22:23

    I have a phyiscally demanding job, lots of cardio, lots of weight-lifting odd angles, using all muscles, and in Colorado at altitude, sometimes at 9,000ft + and I always keep in mind that it is really training.

    • 15 January 2011 at 05:57

      Ah, Colorado.

      I remember puking my guts out many times after running there as a young soldier at Fort Carson.

      If you’re not puking, you’re not trying.

      😉

  4. 15 January 2011 at 12:37

    Very good point. In my opinion the best exercise of all is simply walking. Work up to a 3 to 5 mile walk every evening. If you can do this, you can walk 20-miles a day for days on end. This is basic fitness needed to survive and is sustainable even for those of us who are over 40, 50, 60 years of age and beyond. Throw in a couple sets of pushups, perhaps some chinups, and you have it made.

  5. hellferbreakfast
    16 January 2011 at 13:04

    Great article. Guess until I get in better shape, I’ll just hope I can at least fall where I’ll maybe trip some of the bastards, anyway.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

